Ain't Never Had A Good Time

from by Brooks Long & The Mad Dog No Good



She was reaching, but she couldn't quite connect.
She was trying, but she didn't quite know how.
They only taught her how to live without a sound.
She didn't know that she could get down.

Her friends dragged her out and a poet opened up.
Spoken words singing music to her feet.
The band started grooving and she jumped out her seat.
A side she can't control was overtaken by the beat.

Come on out, we're having a party.
Come on down and dance with somebody.
People, you ain't never had a good time this good.
A good time this good.

All the boys askin bout the new girl in town
except the one, pretend he don't care.
She spots him over there and waves hello.
She only knows because she's been there.

They start to talkin (and) they start to groovin (and)
they make their way on to the floor.
She whispers in his ear, "Hey, let's get out of here."
It might be rude to tell you more.


© Brooks Long 2013


from Mannish Boys, released April 11, 2016
Performed and Arranged by Brooks Long & The Mad Dog No Good:
Brooks Long: Vocals, Guitar
Ian Trusheim: Bass
Dan Samuels: Drums

Adam Scott-Wakefield: Hammond B3, Fender Rhodes
Background Vocals: J Pope, Adam Scott-Wakefield, Jenny Leigh,
Janice B, Rufus Roundtree, Terrelle Scott, and Molly Fitzgibbons

Engineers: Shea Springer, Frank Chivaro and Sean Fitzgibbons
Produced by Shea Springer



all rights reserved


Brooks Long Baltimore, Maryland

Brooks Long brings the old school to today's music lovers in a style all his own. With Joe Martone (Bass) and Dan Samuels (Drums), The Mad Dog No Good bring to their live shows the kind of passion, energy and humor rare in today's music scene.They've have shared the stage with acts like Trombone Shorty, Rebirth Brass Band, Lucero, Low Cut Connie, Caleb Stine, Chris Jacobs and LaFayette Gilchrist. ... more

contact / help

Contact Brooks Long

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code